Thirsty For Love

I have to cover my tracks
There’s a siren’s song singing up my neck
Never had much to offer
Still have stones to cast at the turning backs
The angels laugh
At this bastard chasing his better half
My heart’s in my lap
Have I murdered my time?
Can’t stop running now
The road is long and lonesome
I’ve got to keep my head down
When I get thirsty for love
A love that swallows my tongue
And wakes me slow
Never ready to go after the night has sung
Have I been here before?
Bite my fingers to the bone
Slowly ran myself into the ground
A juvenile delinquent’s throne
Never thought I’d be a King
No turning around
Ate the last bread crumbs two hours ago
I’ll sleep walk for now
To a place where I know
Can’t stop walking now
The road is hard and lonesome
Can’t help to keep my head down
I am thirsty for love
So thirsty for love

The fourth entry in what is increasingly becoming the overly ambitious project to look at every single song written by aKING. Hey, if there’s one thing I’m good at it’s over-thinking things. Thirsty for Love opens with a frenetic drumbeat, ominous guitar chords and Laudo really leaning in on the first line (“traaacks”). The whole mood is one of frantic desperation as the unfulfilled pursuit for love drives the protagonist forward. I want to use this post to highlight two of the aspects of aKING which attracts me to them.

I’ve expressed my complete and utter love of evocative and often enigmatic lyrics off of this album. There is a huge joy in listening to an album on and off for 5 months and suddenly connecting with a line which was there all the time. This is a regular aKING experience. For a band that is primarily Afrikaans their mastery of the English language is astounding. Heck, if they’d been Oxford English Honours Students I would have been impressed. That’s part of the reason I felt I could run a series looking at every song: there was a lot of substance hanging around on those CD’s. Metaphor, imagery, alliteration and pacing are all well in evidence.

While initially jarring, it is a hugely pleasing experience to hear a South African pronunciation of lyrics. There are a couple of moments where it’s really evident: “Let’s dance this dance of beauty” from The Dance and Thirsty’s “…after the night has come” both give a clear indication that this is most definitely a local outfit. Enough of those American accents, let’s hear some more South African syllables.

 “a love that swallows my tongue / and wakes me slow”

Leave a comment

Filed under Music

Leave a Reply

